Hi from York

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi from York

One of your members that I know, recommended this site and I have to say, it seems well active and very useful.

I was a professional chef for 24 years, but changed occupation a few years ago, as I didn't want to be working weekends and split shifts any longer.

I have carried on cooking at home and I am particularly interested in experimenting with Asian and Far Eastern recipes, with Thai being my current favourites and I have even taught a gourmet curry club at my local college recently.

Now even though I live in a fairly big city, I still have problems getting hold of some ingredients such as golongung, kaffir limes and leaves, thai basil, turmeric etc. Other ingredients while available can be hard to find or expensive.

I am also in need of a hobby and quite fancy growing some of these exotic ingredients, if suitable for a novice. The problem is, although well versed in cooking fruit and vegetables, I have no experience of growing them whatsoever.

For the next month or two I will be restricted to growing on window sills indoors, but after that a relative has offered me the use of a heated greenhouse and some raised beds.

I am open to all of your tips and advice and to start me off, I plan to plant some mild and hot chilli's, some chives and some coriander and thai basil.
    Last edited by Ringo Grumio Nibbler; 29-12-2009, 04:12 PM.

Welcome, and good luck. You'll find lots of chilli threads (and fans) on here
    All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Hello Ringo Grumio Nibbler and Welcome to the Vine

What an unusual name :-)

Your in the right place here plenty of friendly advice and loads of great people :-)

Comment

Thanks for the welcome.

I will buy a cheap propigator tomorrow, along with seeds for Thai Basil, Coriander, Jalapeno chilli's and birds eye chilli's.