Trying to get allotments reinstated

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to get allotments reinstated

Hi I'm new to all this so please be gentle!
    Having not long moved to the area I have been enquiring about allotments in our local area and after being told by the district council that they dont have any near here, I have contacted the parish council clerk who was very helpful. She said there used to be some in the village about 10 years but due to lack of intrest they were allowed to go to scrub land but the land was still available also that there used to be a standpipe on the land and that the water supply should still be there even if the tap isnt. The clerk said she would raise it at the next council meeting in about 4 weeks about reinstating them.
    What I really need help with is what I should be doing to try and ensure they think its a good Idea. I have thought about contacting the local primary school to see if they might be interested in taking a plot or 1/2 plot for teaching the kids about growing their own food and also contacting the local horticultural society
    what do you think?
    I should mention I'm a full time working mom so time is limited.

Its not in the National curulium so the schools wont be interested. You will need to put in minimum of 5 hours a week every week. Once you have your plot established. If it is scrub land it will take a lot of work to get it set up.

But in the end its worth it.
    My phone has more Processing power than the Computers NASA used to fake the Moon Landings

Comment

Right - you need the drum banging here! Suggest that you get in touch with the local paper - this is a FAB local interest story!

Also your local councillor should be putting the 'community' interests forward - I know that this wont be your council's first priority (moneywise), but I'm sure that funding could be made available in order to bring this amenity back into play if it's profile is high enough.