Pear tree (harvest green)

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pear tree (harvest green)

Hi all, I'm new to this & also a new member. We bought a Pear tree by the name of harvest green over a week ago .
    It is currently sat in its own plant pot as bought.
    Can this tree grow in its own plant pot or do we have to dig a hole into the ground and grow it.
    Also will this tree be self pollinating or do we have to buy another tree for pollination.
    Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Its more difficult and needs a lot of work to grow any fruit tree in a pot. If you have space in your garden I'd advise you to plant it out there instead. All fruit need a lot of good open light and also space where the air can pass round them freely. Pears in particular are often grown against a wall in the UK, because the extra bit of warmth makes ripening the fruit a better bet if we get a cold weather.

Comment

Pear tree (harvest green)

Hello, appreciate your as advice.
      I don't have a solid wall. It's going to be next to a wooden shed or a wooden fence in the back garden.
      Or if I dig in the front of the house then it would be next to a half brick wall & half wooden fence.
      What about pollination, is it ok by itself?

Comment

This old thread mentions harvest green being a patio tree,it can go in a large container. If a neighbour has a pear tree it can help pollinate it or find a pollination partner of a different variety that flowers at the same time,some pear tree varieties can become really tall.
        https://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gr...t-trees-2.html

Comment

Yes the label that came with the tree does mention patio.
          There are a couple of pear trees but they are probably a 2 minutes walk from where we live, not in the neighborhood though.
          Same with us we also bought it from Morrisons.
          It states it can grow up to 2metre high which isn't too bad.

Comment