New Teeny Tiny Redcurrant Bush

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Teeny Tiny Redcurrant Bush

Hello everyone, I'm a bit new to trying to make things grow and would really appreciate some advice. These may seem like silly questions but I am a total beginner and am really keen to get this right!

I helped out on an allotment a couple of years ago and even though I thought it sounded like hard work, I enjoyed every minute of it (especially the eating part). I don't have a garden of my own and couldn't handle an allotment at the moment, so I have bought a smashing book called Crops in Pots and started a project with a redcurrant bush. It's in a 40cm x 40cm (ish) pot on my patio, and is basically a 10-inch high "Y" shaped thing which at the moment just looks a bit twig-like!

I have three questions:
    1. How much should I water it? My previous record with houseplants is *not* good at all, I am terrified of overwatering them and consequently they usually dehydrate. How can I make sure I get it right this time, in this size of pot and at this time of year?
    2. Am I *really* alright to have planted it this early in the year? My book says it should survive a frost alright, but it's so little, I wonder if I should cover it up, and if so, what with?
    3. How long will it take to indicate whether it's happy or not (i.e. how long will it be before I know if I've killed it )?

Any advice would be very gratefully received, as I am a total duffer in such matters, although I am finding it all very exciting thus far.

Yours,
    Miss Locksley
    Last edited by Miss_Locksley; 23-02-2009, 06:40 PM. Reason: Typo!

Well, Miss Locksley, I have a red currant bush for about 6 years now although its planted in the ground outdoors.
    Don't have the soil sodden as there will not be a lot of growth just yet and not a lot of heat to dry the soil out.
    Most plants die from overwatering rather than underwatering.