What size pot for a raspberry plant

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What size pot for a raspberry plant

Hi All can you tell me what size I should be growing my raspberry plant in.
    Thanks
    Daniel

Originally posted by Daniel Robinson View Post
    Hi All can you tell me what size I should be growing my raspberry plant in.
    Thanks
    Daniel
    Hi Daniel,
    I have never heard of anyone growing raspberries in pots before so did a little google and quite a lot have tried but without too much success and especially with the summer varieties, this site has some more information on how they got on Pots of Fruit: Raspberries

hope someone else has a more definite answer for you - good luck with it though.

Comment

I have been growing raspberries in containers for the past 3 years. I have them planted in large water containers that have been cut in half the are about 80-90cm diameter and about 60 cm high. I have 6 summer ones in one and 6 autum in the other. I get quite a lot of fruit from them and they grow really well

Comment

I've got some raspberry canes in the orange B&Q buckets, leaves are beginning to form, so they seem to be growing ok, fingers crossed I get lots of fruit !
        http://jenegademaster.blogspot.com/

Comment

thats great i really appreciate your help.
          thanks
          daniel

Comment

Hi. I only joined your forum about ten minutes ago and already I'm really excited about my garden. The above question was one I was going to ask. I too bought a blackberry and a raspberry plant and wasn't too sure what to do with them 1st. I too wanted to grow them in pots, do I plant up and put them out now ? Do they need full sun/partial sun etc ?

Comment

Like Jenegade, I have just planted 9 Polka raspberry canes in 6 B&Q 14 Litre buckets (the tasteful 1pound black ones!) in 50/50 topsoil and MPC.