Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Poor Apple Blossom

Hi All,

I have a 3 year old apple tree in my garden, which last year produced lots of flowers across the whole tree, however this year its produced less than 20 flowers - all on one branch. Is this a sign I've mis-pruned it? Is there anything I can do to recover this year?

In its first year most of the flowers fell off in the wind and a whole new set grew back, would the same happen if I pulled off this years?

Thanks for any advice

Hi there
    I'm by no means an expert (hopefully they'll be along shortly ) but one of my apple trees does this; fruits heavily one year, then hardly at all the year after. It's known as biennial bearing, and some varieties are more prone to it than others. I think that if you remove some of the fruit on a heavy year, it can help it to fruit more the next, but hopefully an expert will know better than me....

Comment

Originally posted by GJ2011 View Post
      Hi All,

I have a 3 year old apple tree in my garden, which last year produced lots of flowers across the whole tree, however this year its produced less than 20 flowers - all on one branch. Is this a sign I've mis-pruned it? Is there anything I can do to recover this year?

In its first year most of the flowers fell off in the wind and a whole new set grew back, would the same happen if I pulled off this years?

Thanks for any advice
      There is nothing that can be done this year. Even if you induced flowering, there may not be another apple tree nearby to offer pollen and your fruits may not ripen before winter arrives.

Some varieties of apple can easily become biennial. Pinching-out half the flower buds before they start to open can alleviate biennial bearing. Once the buds have flowered, pulling off blossoms or fruit thinning will not be as effective at managing an even cropping habit.