Transplanting potted trees in to soil

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transplanting potted trees in to soil

Our minarette trees bought bare rooted were put in to pots, after realising the space we had reserved for them had poor soil. The trees are all starting to come in to leaf now and are looking healthy.

Today with the good weather we improved the soil in the area we had reserved for the trees (digging down approx 2.5 ft over the whole area, removing the rubble etc, and returning the good soil along with some new topsoil). We are now considering trying to plant the trees in the soil at some point once the soil has settled - should we wait until the autumn for this?
    Last edited by cazp; 27-03-2012, 09:55 PM. Reason: typo

I'm not an expert, but I'd say the main reason you plant during the autumn is to do with watering - e.g. you don't need to as the trees are essentially dormant.

However, this isn't going to apply to you, as you'll need to water the pots the trees are in, so I'd say, go ahead and plant, - you will need to water regularly with lots of water - more water and less fequent intervals is better than little and often.

Hope this helps!
    If the river hasn't reached the top of your step, DON'T PANIC!

Comment

I don't see a problem with planting now, other than the ground sinking a bit.

Make sure that the grafts are adequately above ground, so that a few inches of sinking won't cause a problem later.

You could also tread down the compost and pile it an inch or two higher than ground level to allow for some further settling.
      Last edited by FB.; 28-03-2012, 07:08 PM.

Comment

Hi thanks for the advice.
        The soil is still very soft and that is a consideration - I guess I could also sink the pots in to the soil for the time being as a temporary measure (as long as I keep the drainage holes free)?

Comment