Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Inherited an apple tree.....feeling worried about what to do.

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inherited an apple tree.....feeling worried about what to do.

Hello,

I only seem to ever come on here to ask questions, but I guess it's my first year of growing in my inherited mid terrace garden. The previous owner as the seasons continues had some great ideas and not so great ideas so to give you some background information I thought I'd share this with you to put you in the picture....

At the bottom of our north facing garden we have a vegetable patch, it's where the sun gets to and I am pleased to say we have done quite well out of it - there are courgettes growing, runners, broads, kale and a variety of herbs. Towards the end of the patch is a trellis which then goes in to a secret garden kind of area. In that area is 2 raspberry bushes, a red currant bush and a dwarfy gooseberry bush which has seen better and more lighter days.

Above these bushes is an acer which provides a lot of shade but the fruit bushes have coped in the shade. To my surprise 3 weeks ago an apple tree came off the trellis baring fruits, I have no idea of the breed but you can see the apple tree trying to find light as it is surrounded by honey suckle. It is not attached to the trellis but close enough for me to feed the branches on to the terrace.

What is crazy is most of my friends take the p out of the fact I have an obsession with apple fruits, I also go to Ledbury apple festival so you can imagine my face when I saw the fruits in my own back garden.

What I would like to do is give this apple tree the life it deserves, potentially training the branches through the trellis and making sure it's looked after properly. I curse the previous owner sometimes but then I smile at the fact he had the balls to grow these plants in such a small area.