Mmmm... I've made a mistake.

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mmmm... I've made a mistake.

When I started chitting my first earlies in Feb my OH gave me two main crop from the kitchen cupboard which had sprouted and in my ignorance I planted them in a pot. They were an inch above the soil today and I've covered them with more compost. (The first earlies haven't come up yet). What will happen to them? Will they grow and produce potatoes? (all be it at the 'wrong time') Shall I just keep covering them as they pop up?

Are you planning to grow all your potatoes in pots Martha? Or do you have an allotment or garden to plant them in? Where are they growing at the moment? (the maincrops, that is)

Comment

They are all growing in pots, I don't have room to put them in the ground, this is my first attempt at growing something edible apart from tomatoes and herbs.

Comment

Can't see what the problem is, just keep covering up the shoots, the main crop in your pots will take about 13 weeks to grow. The problem might be if they get frosted, so keep them inside if there's a risk.
        To see a world in a grain of sand
        And a heaven in a wild flower

Comment

Oh, thanks, I thought different types of potatoes should be grown at different times of year. Someone in another thread said he'd planted main crop by mistake and so had to dig them up.

Comment

I was under the impression that the nomenclature appended to potatoes (ooh 'ark at 'er!) was to do with how long they took to grow, ie first earlies, second earlies, etc. Nothing to do with when they're planted except folk normally plant earlies as an early crop, because earlies take about 10 weeks to grow.

Harvesting and storing potatoes:
            Harvest times depend on planting dates, weather and temperature at planting time, weather during the growing season, variety maturity and weather and temperature at harvest time. However, in general terms: