new gardener with children

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new gardener with children

hi all im new to veg gardening and i am involving my children ..i dont have much space 5 beds approximately 4feetX2 feet..any suggestions of what i should plant to ensure something to keep the kids interested and that we can all eat.

try anything that is fairly quick growing and unusually coloured, our kids last year grew radish, mange tout, carrots (multicoloured ones and some round ones), yellow french beans etc.

this year it's all the above plus multicoloured cauli's (thanks Claire) and red and white onions.

A sunflower competition between them also keeps the interest going and we are attempting the allotment site biggest pumpkin competition, each growing our own entries.
    Kernow rag nevra

Some people feel the rain, others just get wet.
    Bob Dylan

Comment

Hi there. I think with children its got to be something that will grow quickly so will keep there interest. Most of the seed catalogues this year have had a section with fast growing types and they are usually the baby sized veg like turnip (snowball of tokyo cross), radishes, carrot, srouting seeds like alfalfa and beensprouts which you can do on your windosill and how about baby lettuces leaves they take about 2-3 weeks you can buy mixed seeds packets.
      Im trying Jamie Olivers tip from his program and Im going to get the girls to soow some salads in the shape of their names which will hopefully get them more involved!
      Hope this helps
      Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons for you are crunchy and good with ketchup!

Comment

You could grow some different kinds of lettuces low down underneath some sweetcorn (most kids love that!), or courgettes, squashes or pumpkins underneath the corn. (I know my 2 year old is fascinated with the courgette forming on the plant still in the pot already and comparing it to the one in the fridge from the shop).