In the shade

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In the shade

Hi - Newbie here. In September our garden is going to be landscaped and as well as raised beds, decking etc there will be a long retainer wall made of sleepers down one side of the garden which is in shade. Can anyone tell me if there are any veggies that will grow in the shade? It's fairly sheltered and as it's going to be a long run it would be a shame not to use it for yummy crops.
    Thanks everso for any help you can give me.
    Weavie

Hi Weavie,

Are they reclamied sleepers or new ones? If they are reclaimed the trouble is they are pickled in creosote & the fumes from this can burn plants & the creosote may leech out in the hot weater that we are having at the moment. If they are new ones & they havein't been treated in creosote the worlds your oyster ... well veg bed!

Most things grow better in the sun but things like lettuce will grow in the shade.

If it were up to me I'd have this as a shady border with things like ferns, Azalea's & rhodedendrons & stuff like that in & have the sunnier bit for my veggies which can look just as good as normal plants - tell your landscape desiginer that you want your garden not what he thinks you want & consign the veg plot to the shade
    ntg
    Never be afraid to try something new.
    Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark.
    A large group of professionals built the Titanic
    ==================================================

Comment

Hello Weavie, and welcome. Apart from lettuce I don't know of any other veggies that will do well in shade. Most things want a bit of sun. If you can move your plan round there are planty of plants that will grow in shade. A good climbing rose for shade is Zepherin Drouhin - pink, scented, and one of the very few roses that will do wll without sunshine. Enjoy your new garden and let us know how you get on.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment