Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello

Hello everyone!

This is the 3rd year that I've had my allotment and I still feel like a complete novice but I'm learning day by day and would be grateful for any help and advice. I'm a vegan and especially love growing all kinds of squashes amongst other things. I'd really like to try growing peas this year which I've never done before - am I too late already?

I'm the only woman on the site where my allotment is and the men (who are all retired) have been quite kind but I think they're waiting for me to give up which I will never, never do. They all refer to me as 'girl' - I'm 38 on Friday! Am getting a little greenhouse for my birthday - haven't been this excited in years

Anyway, thanks very much!

Bright blessings
    SM

Good to hear from you, there's loads of people here who can give you really good advice as well as quite a few non-gardening threads. Generally pretty friendly.

Re the peas, you can still plant them no problems - I usually put my last lot in about May time and they still come up no problems. I've done a winter sowing this year for the first time but not sure it's been very successful as they've been wind and rain battered that much that I'm not sure they will crop any earlier than a spring sowing. Maybe should have given them a bit more protection.

Some of us live in the past, always talking about back then. Some of us live in the future, always planning what we are going to do. And, then there are those, who neither look behind or ahead, but just enjoy the moment of right now.

Which one are you and is it how you want to be?

Comment

Hi squash muppet,

Welcome to the vine, you will be fine with your peas. I am not putting mine in until after I am back from holiday (early April)

You will get plenty of help and laughs on here and will be showing the old guys how it is done in no time

Happy new greenhouse and birthday on Friday.

Mandy

Comment