Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will veg grow without manure?Will veg grow without manure?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will veg grow without manure?Will veg grow without manure?

I have taken on a new plot but missed the delivery of the manure.
    Does anyone know how my potatoes, beans, peas, squash & sweet corn will fare with only blood, fish & bone feed? I have started off a compost bin with veg, coffee & tea however will not be ready for a while.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you

Nature Girl

you could use chicken pellets instead. I didn't use anything at all last year and grew quite a few things ok
    Belgrave-allotments.co.uk

Comment

THANK YOU, i WILL LOOK IN THE LOTTIE SHOP FOR THESE PELLETS.
      Nature Girl

Comment

Originally posted by Nature Girl View Post
        THANK YOU, i WILL LOOK IN THE LOTTIE SHOP FOR THESE PELLETS.
        I'm no expert though. don't put any with carrots.
        Belgrave-allotments.co.uk

Comment

I've not bothered with any manure (no car, don't want to fill up my bike panniers with pony poo) and I get good crops each year. My compost heap doesn't get spread around the allotment...too much hard work...I plant hungry plants into the heap.
          Obviously, well-rotted manure will improve the soil, and feeding a plant will improve its performance. Unless your soil is absolutely carp, I wouldn't worry for now. Get some when you can
          (I use comfrey tea as a fertiliser...it has more potassium than manure).
          All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Hi nature girl, nice to meet you.
            I bet your lottie wasn't cultivated fully last year, and therefore you should find that the soil will be ok. We didn't put any on ours the first year as it was vacant for two years before we got it.