Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Weeds and seedlings - telling the difference!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weeds and seedlings - telling the difference!

Help!

I'm pretty new to this and wondered if anyone could explain how I tell the difference between seedlings coming up and weeds? It's fine for things coming up in rows but I sowed my sorrel and ox eye daisies in a clump and now I can't tell what I should be pulling up!

Hi Jules I aways wait untill they have past the seedling stage, then you should be able to tell by the shape of the leaves

Comment

You could sow a couple off seeds into a pot and leave them at the row ends, that what I do when sowing something Ihave never grown before

Comment

Hello Jules and welcome to the Vine. I'm all too familiar with all the different weeds and can recognise them no probs. But that's good advice from TEB there. I would go with that one.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment

After a few years, as Alice says, you will get to know (all too well!) your plot's usual weeds. The first true leaves on your veg should resemble the picture on the packet so hang fire a bit if you're not sure.
          Whoever plants a garden believes in the future.

www.vegheaven.blogspot.com Updated March 9th - Spring

Comment

What I have done with the parsnip is just put a spot of compost over where i planted it that way you have a better ider as to where you have planted and
            its easyer to spot the weeds

if the seeds are small you can just put a row of compost where the seeds are
            then when they get bigger you can tell
            Some things in their natural state have the most VIVID colors
            Dobby

Comment

Hello Jules, and welcome to the Vine!
              I like TEB's idea- good one!