Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what potatoes can I plant?

I'm in the proccess of clearing my 18 rod plot

I'm thinking of using about a 1/4 of it for potatoes for this year, I want to make the most of the ground, but don't want to overwelm myself with too many varieties of veg

I want to be able to plant some potatoes that will crop around November/ December time.

Any advice on what and how to plant them? (i.e spacing of plants, protection, manure etc)

I'm completely new to this, so any advice, however simple you may think it is, will be very useful

Thank you,

Chrissie
    Last edited by chrissie the chippy; 04-06-2007, 08:59 PM.
    "Nothing contrary to one's genius"

http://chrissieslottie.blogspot.com/

Your a bit late really Chrissie. Your best bet would have been something like Desiree as that will stand in the ground till October time but by November we will be having rain & frosts/cold weather which will see most tatties off ( or the slugs will murder them.

You could buy some late cropping spuds that are designed for Xmas but they are more expensive than normal seed spuds and you'll need to protect it with either a good thatch of straw or Fleeceotherwise you'll suffer as mentioned above.

You could plant a load ov winter greens ( Cabbage, Cauli's Brussels) as these will cover the ground and smother the weeds and the roots will help break the soil up.

The other alternative is to cover it all with black plastic and grow stuff in tubs & use these to hold the plastic down, allthough there is still time to clear enough to grow some summer crops.

Any way welcome to the Vine and I hope this helps
    ntg
    Never be afraid to try something new.
    Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark.
    A large group of professionals built the Titanic
    ==================================================

Comment

Thank you Nick.