Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slugs Bugs and cats

Hi all

I have been growing food for about the last 4 years. With not a great deal of success.

This year the kohl rabi, leeks, lettuce, onions and carrots were a right off. The weeds over whelmed them in a matter of days and then the rains came.

Potatoes are the only thing that seems to do any good. A few years back I managed to get a decent crop of radish and lettuce.

But my main pests are the slugs, bugs and my own cats. I have tried mini plastic polly tunnels. But the invaders keep getting in.

I am doing everything the organic way, but the bugs are winning.

Any help or guidance welcomed.

Hi Slugfest, and welcome to the Vine!

About 90% of your problems will be solved by covering your beds with netting (and enviromesh even better - tho' expensive). My neighbour at the Hill has 4' stakes driven down about a foot, and about 5' apart to which he nails netting (make some if it removable for weeding and harvesting!) which worked a treat.

Slugs are a different story, though...

Comment