Ex Battery Hens

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ex Battery Hens

Hi there, I'm new to this foram so "hello to you all before I go on".

I want to know some info on Ex battery hens (please) , are they just like other hens to look after, do they need any more care than other hens out there, do they eat the same food and do they still lay eggs?

We are getting 10 hens on the 14th of june I have keep hens before but i was young so my mom and dad did most of the looking after and as they are ex battery hens I want to know all I can about the birds before they get here.

Please help me out over here if you can.

Hiya, weve had some battery hens for just over a month, also had some 'normal' chickens since january. Ex batts need layers mash to eat at first as that is all they have ever eaten, we got some poultry spice aswell, its supposed to give them a boost. We found that they wernt as fit, couldnt jump and wernt very active for a day or so, If their hen house is built off the ground then you might need to help them in at night at first but they soon build up their fitness. They still lay eggs, out of 5 chickens we normally get 3 eggs a day. Ive read some info and it says to expect about a 40 % egg production rate. One of our ex batts had laid an egg on the way home. Also be prepared for them to have feathers missing. One of ours had non left on her neck, they are growing back already tho. We totally love our girls. Its the best thing we ever did, they are loverly and friendly aswell.

Comment

They are lovely! I got 4 in October from the BHWT.

I started feeding them pellets mixed with poultry spice, honey, hot water and a bit of olive oil for extra calories and to help with feather condition. I cut out the olive oil after a few weeks. Now they get plain layers pellets and grit. I give them green veg hung from a tree so they have to jump a bit for it.