X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not yet a chicken owner, my next steps

HI all

I have got my self an allotment and have a space around 5m x5m

I have been thinking of getting some chickens, as have a couple of others on the allotment. I have no knowledge of keeping chickens apart from talking with the others and also reading on the net.

I was thinking of starting with 2-4 chickens (or banthams) Which should I start with?

I have a local place that I can rescue ex battery chickens from.

However, I would like to know peoples views on the following:

How much time will it take to look after them per day (or week)

I've read about egg's getting stuck and seems to be in every magazine where the egg sack gets infected...with such widespread magazine features, is this regular..it worries me

How much to set up, a local company do a great run, and I thought one of these enclosed runs, customised so they can go into the larger run for around £119 for the main coop and

Roof Length - 168cm Main Length - 160cm Main Run Length - 104cm
    Depth -71cm Height - 104cm Main Nest Area -56w x 71d x 64t

and a 6 x6 x6 run which is £135

I was thinking that I wont be able to get to see the hens twice every day, and was thinking if I know cant make it keeping them in the main coop and run, and when I know I can come back up and shut them in, have then in the coop and extended run

What else do I need, is there a buying list??

What is everyones opinion of what it will cost.

The eglu (omlet looks good but expensive)

What should I look for in terms of the type of chicken

Any advice is most welcome

I know you can read loads, but I always think first hand advice is more rewarding!
    Last edited by tlck9; 19-06-2009, 08:10 PM.