Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Organic Alternatives?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie chicken owner and new to the forum. I got my girls a few months ago and everything is going well. However, I'm not sure what to do about worming and lice control. I run my garden as naturally as possible and I don't really want to use conventional sprays, powders, etc. What are the organic alternatives?

Should I be giving the girls something as a matter of course or only once a problem arises?

Any advice much appreciated.

Giving garlic in food/ water and ( I think cider apple vinegar added to feed) will help keep parasite burdens down but isn't a substiute for regular worming etc. Hopefully the organic peeps wil be along shortly to tell what they use...

Do tell us what breeds and numbers you've got though we all want to know!

Comment

Hi kiwichick, I'm pretty sure you should be using a preventative for worms going on everything I've read. How much space do your chickens have and how many are there? As for organic, I haven't looked into that sorry.

Comment

I know Verm-x is herbal, I can't see any claims about its being organic, but I've attached the link for you to have a read through. They do have 'Rest of World' stockist too.

Verm-X. Natural Control of Internal Parasites for all your Animals. 100% Herbal. No Chemicals.
        Last edited by Pumpkin Becki; 10-11-2009, 10:07 AM.

Comment

Wecome to the vine kiwichick. In my experience Verm-X doesn't work. Perhaps there are organic substitutes in your part of the world but I find a regular worming with Flubenvet is best.

Comment