Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ex-commercial Free-Rangers

Hello all,
    I'm new to this chicken keeping lark and have been offered some ex-free rangers.
    My question is, how old do they tend to be? What is the end of a free-rangers laying life? I know ex-bats are one year and I naively pressumed they would be the same, but are they?

Thanks for any help with this
    Www.chicorychildrenandchickens.wordpress.com

They'll have had a year of laying like the ex-batts probably. The supermarkets won't buy eggs from hens after their first season as the shells deteriorate in quality so don't travel as well. If they're from a commercial flock I'd think it'll be the same.

Comment

The ones we have were 18months old when we got them. They are warrens and are as friendly as anything. The main difference between them and battery chooks is that they have been outdoors.

they are got rid of at 18 months because the first year of laying gives the most eggs per year. The ones we have were saved from the same fate as battery hens - pies/nuggets/cat food or whatever.
      Last edited by shirlthegirl43; 04-02-2011, 07:40 PM.
      Happy Gardening,
      Shirley

Comment

My first lot were ex-Batts (Brown), my second lot were ex-Free Rangers (white). To me, that appears to be the only difference!
        All the best - Glutton 4 Punishment
        Freelance shrub butcher and weed removal operative.

Comment

Thanks guys, I had just pressumed that they were a year old because they're at the end of their commercial life.
          I'm soooooo excited! Going to see a coop tomorrow, it's a homemade jobbie, 6x4 to suit 10 hens they say. £125. Sounds alright?

Comment

Sounds not bad. I have an 8 x 6 shed with a bodged together run affair. When they are awake (12 in there) the shed looks quite full but at night they all squidge into a corner - around 2foot x 2foot!
            Happy Gardening,
            Shirley

Comment