New Veg Patch

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Veg Patch

This is probably a daft quesition but I would appreciate the advise!

My odd job man has made me a fairly basic patch divided into 4 sections, thing is he just plonked lots of compost over the existing muddy grassy section without doing much work to the existing compost underneath! I just wondered if this would cause me problems with weeds/grass etc?

I have only grown toms and green pepperd in containers before but have moved to a house with a big garden so have a adequate plot for my patch.

There are potatoes on the left siide and brocolli and green bean plants on the other side, the last section will be for the top plants when they are a bit bigger to plant out side. I will post a pic later today and would really appreciate any advice as I am not really experienced and would be heartbroken if they aall died~!!

Thanks in advance guys

What sort of advice are you thinking of?

there won't be a problem with plonking compost over an existing section, unless there are perennials like dandelion and you can pull those out as you go.

I would do some research on this forum for each crop that you want to grow and take it from there.

Comment

When we made our new veg beds this year, all we did was to cut the grass very short then just covered it all in compost.
      The grass is now dead and is adding to the goodness of the soil beneath the compost.

We did have the odd blade of grass pop up but we just picked them out.

Comment