Impatient First Timer

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Impatient First Timer

This is my first year with a garden large enough to grow veg and I've thrown myself right into it, and loving it. Do you become less patient the longer you grow? I keep looking at things and getting cross with them for not growing quickly enough. I've banned myself from going into the greenhouse 20 times a day to look at things.

Any others out there feel the same way?

hi,tell me what you have been growing and i might beable to give you some idea,

Finney

Comment

I think you become more patient the longer you have grown as you understand the time that plants need. I guess its down to experience.
      'People don't learn and grow from doing everything right the first time... we only grow by making mistakes and learning from them. It's those who don't acknowledge their mistakes who are bound to repeat them and do no learn and grow. None of us are done making mistakes or overflowing with righteous wisdom. Humility is the key.'
      - Thomas Howard

Comment

Yup, I'm just the same. I can't understand why nothing looks any bigger when I go in 30 mins later to 'check'.......
        Tx
        Tx

Comment

Ha ha, yeah 'come on, I go away, have a cup of tea and you're still the same size'.

Everythings growing, but just too slow. My boyfriend was blessed with patience, sadly I wasn't.

In the greenhouse the toms, squash, gherkins, Cape Gooseberries, peppers, courgettes, strawbs and herbs are doing well but the chillis are real slow, only about 2 inches or so but lots of people in my area have been telling me that theirs are slow too.

Any tips?
          Last edited by amandaandherveg; 12-06-2008, 10:07 AM.

Comment

2 inch chillies wow, the flowers on mine havnt even opened yet

I play music to mine whilst Im working in the garden, I have my first courgette growing so shouldnt be long before I can eat it.
            However should I cook it or eat it raw????