First time shallot grower

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time shallot grower

I noticed my shallots are splitting the soil around them is this normal? I have attached a photo. Do I need to cover them up again?
    Attached Files

Nope, that's how they grow.
    I loosen the soil around them to let them grow as wide and carefree as possible. Just picked a load this morning - love them.

Comment

If you leave them exposed to the air (and sun, if we get any more!) it helps them to ripen and the skins will dry up a bit.
      Whoever plants a garden believes in the future.

www.vegheaven.blogspot.com Updated March 9th - Spring

Comment

Hope you don't mind me sticking another question on your thread. This is my first time growing shallots too. How do you know when they are ready to pick? Can you use them straight from the ground or do they have to reach a certain stage of 'ripeness'?
        Happy Gardening,
        Shirley

Comment

You can use them straight from the ground but normally you will want them to store for future use too. They are ready to store when they start to dry up naturally. The leaves become like dry straw and you can lift them then and pull the tops off. I keep them in the sort of net you get satsumas in.

Comment

Thanks Flum. I had read about onions and waiting for the tops to go yellow but I have one clump of shallots that look extremely lovely and I fancied using them in the braised beef and red wine I am about to make. Off to pick a bunch now.
            Happy Gardening,
            Shirley

Comment

phew panic over then I thought there was something wrongm - I am looking forward to harvest time
              Last edited by Kimbo; 22-06-2008, 01:35 PM. Reason: cant spell

Comment

i have had red sun shallots in since 24th of feb. i want to use them for pickling should i pull them up and pickle straight away or pull them and leave to dry. 1st time grower aswell