Onions and garlic in modules

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Onions and garlic in modules

My garlic and onions have been pathetic this year. I think it's a lack of decent rain and a lack of nutrients in the light sandy soil. Under my rotation system they are due to go to plot 1 next, where my spud were this year. So I've got green manure growing there at the moment (mustard) and am intending to muck it too.

However while all that's going on I'm wondering if it's feasible to start my soon to arrive autumn planting varities in modules and plant them out either in early winter once I've mucked, or overwinter them in the poly and plant them out early spring.

Has anyone done this before? I reckon the onions would be OK in a module as the set is only half buried, but just wondering about the garlic.
    Are y'oroight booy?

I'm not an expert, but I have seen people say they start onions off in modules, so as long as they are hardened off and you choose a mild spell to transplant them I should think they would be fine. Garlic needs a cold spell in order to form individual cloves, so you would need to overwinter them outside. I don't know about modules for garlic.
    A life is like a garden. Perfect moments can be had, but not preserved, except in memory. LLAP. - Leonard Nimoy

Comment

I've had no success with garlic in modules - well, it sprouted and produced a few leaves but did not survive to be transplanted.

However, one or two of my neighbours do it and it works well for them. Not sure if they plant out after a couple of months in the modules in Autumn, or over-winter then plant out in Spring - I'll try to remember to ask when I go over to the allotment this afternoon.

Comment

I used to plant my garlic in small pots of compost and leave them outside over winter. If I got a hard winter, they would die. I think being in pots makes them a lot more susceptible to freezing solid.