Purple Potato

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Purple Potato

Just dug up one of my potato plans that is still in flower as this is my first time growing and am very inpateint and the potatoes are a good size but half the skins are purple in colour!

Is this because they have been dug up too early,

What make of potato are they?

Comment

I grew purple spuds one year, they were lovely. Had to move house though, and left them all in the freezer...about half an allotment's worth!
      All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

I would'nt dig up your potatoes until the flowers and foliage die down.
        As to the colour, its probably the variety that you planted.

And when your back stops aching,
        And your hands begin to harden.
        You will find yourself a partner,
        In the glory of the garden.

Rudyard Kipling.sigpic

Comment

As long as they're not green they should be OK to eat. It's probably just the variety you grew!

Comment

Thanks, I didnt keep the packet, but they are certainly bright purple, are they grren if they are not ready?

Comment

Nope, just tiny if they aren't ready
              Happy Gardening,
              Shirley

Comment

Originally posted by NSB View Post
                Thanks, I didnt keep the packet, but they are certainly bright purple, are they grren if they are not ready?
                If they are green you have not covered them with soil well enough and they have been exposed to sunlight, plus they should NOT be used as they are then mildly poisonous.

Potatoes come in many colours, I suspect you might have Arran Victory which looks like something off the cosmetics counter at Boots when freshly dug. You can get: white skinned, yellow skinned, rose blushed white or yellow skinned, piebald cream and rose, rose skinned, red skinned, purple skinned, blue skinned. You can also get: white fleshed, yellow fleshed, red fleshed, blue fleshed.