Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Leaving onion to seed - are they ready ?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leaving onion to seed - are they ready ?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170703_165205.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	2404726

I left some garlic of different varities to seed.

Can anyone tell me when the seed are ready to harvest? I've never done this before

As long as the bees etc buzz around, they should be ready in the autumn - when they contain black seeds like in the packets of onions you buy.

I've saved leeks seeds but never garlic or onion, mainly because I plant cloves for garlic (save the biggest bulbs for next year, these are already in the shed for planting again in September) and generally buy sets for onions. I've left a few leeks this year to set seed and will be harvesting in autumn. Probably before first frosts I'll dig the plants up and put them somewhere to dry out and keep dry. I'll probably remove the seeds from the heads when I want to sow them in early spring.

With garlic, you might want to sow them in the autumn depending on the variety, I would be interested on how you get on with them. But as you have several varieties, they will likely interbreed - which isn't necessarily bad but you won't know 100% what they are.

For leeks Laurence D. Hills suggests they need staking for support the heavy flower heads and to cut these off in October leaving to dry till December. "The stem should have started tto turn yellow before cutting with a foot of stem".

For Onion seed, he again stresses the need for staking. He says, "By the end of September, the pods should be fully grown...and when the seeds are black, the heads shoud be cut off with 18inches of stem" again hang to dry.
    He doesn't detail garlic seed saving but would be similar to these.
    He does caution though that raising two kinds of leeks in the same garden is asking for crossing.

Comment