Copper clippings

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Copper clippings

So chatted with someone over the weekend who would strip down electrical wiring and cut the copper core into small pieces (a few mm) and then scatter this into the soil. Swore by it as beneficial for home grown veg.

I'm new to growing veg so I've never encountered it before. Thought I'd ask a collective mind.

Copper is used against slugs and snails but I don't know of any other benefits.

Copper tape, copper bands, copper grease etc. TBH I faff about enough as it is without spending time stripping down cables, but each to their own.

Comment

I use copper tape on some of my pots as NG said the slugs and snails arn't keen but will force themselves over it if hungry.

I would not use copper clippings as I would'nt want the dogs getting it in their paws - Oh the vet bill.

I suppose it depends on whether you have a lottie (child free) or are a back garden grower like me.
      I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. Thomas A. Edison

Outreach co-ordinator for the Gnome, Pixie and Fairy groups within the Nutters Club.

Comment

AFAIK copper compounds persist in the soil and don't sit well with earthworms or bees. Once in the soil bits of copper are going to hang around for years and can't be easily removed. I don't think I'd fancy crops grown in contact with it.
        Location ... Nottingham

Comment

Originally posted by Mr Bones View Post
          AFAIK copper compounds persist in the soil and don't sit well with earthworms or bees. Once in the soil bits of copper are going to hang around for years and can't be easily removed. I don't think I'd fancy crops grown in contact with it.
          I agree. Copper does have fungisidal qualitiess though so could be heralded as a cure for clubroot and whiterot.
          Personally I think I would stick with clubroot and white rot, rather than have copper poisoning.