Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wasp deterrent

Hi guys,

This is my first post and I'd like to thank you all for the help and tips I've gained from this forum over the past weeks.

I'm new to gardening and have just started growing my own veg in pots, waiting to move into our new house (when the solicitors have finished faffing around) and I will have a small plot to grow more.

My oh is allergic to wasp stings and I would like some help and suggestions on how to deter wasps from the garden. I'd rather not go down the route of killing them as I know they can be beneficial to the surrounding gardens.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the Vine Dfurn.
    I've put on a link to something you might want to try. I don't know how good it is but I'm planning to try it myself.
    The Waspinator - Wasp Deterant for your Home and Garden

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment

I'm really not sure how to deter wasps, but there are some nice glass wasp traps in Sainsbury's at the mo.

It stands slightly off the ground, with a hole in the bottom, and you put sugary water inside, when the wasp climbs in, it is stuck inside. I think the idea is to kill them, but i suppose if you are feeling daring, you could whip the top off and run like the wind.

sorry if this isn't very helpfull

Comment

When we had a wasps nest in our eaves, right above where our patio doors are, I googled for info about wasps. I seem to remember that some of the stuff suggested to keep them away (not to do with nests) was don't eat jam/sweet stuff outdoors, etc...

I can't remember exactly what I read now, sorry, but if you google there's lots of info. I think the point being they've no reason to be around you bothering you if you haven't anything they 'want' or are attracted to. TBH even with a wasps nest above our heads we had no more trouble with them than any other time.
        Last edited by smallblueplanet; 23-04-2009, 05:55 PM.